Delivery of media stream with low latency (Low Latency video streaming)

When watching a TV program or live broadcast of an event, delay within 1min from real time is not a problem and does not affect the comfort of the viewer. Most popular OTT and streaming services use video streaming standards over HTTP with a delay of about 30-40 sec.

However, as soon as interactivity is added to passive viewing and the viewer becomes a participant in the action, asking questions in a text chat (webinar) or connecting by video call, the minimum delay immediately becomes important. And for game projects with bets or requiring speed response - in general a fundamental point. Broadcast video with a delay of no more than 1-2 seconds belong to the Low Latency streaming category. So, if you:

  • broadcast presentation (webinar) providing direct questions from the audience (without prior moderation) by text chat or video call
  • broadcast sports events or games with the reception of bets
  • quiz with answers to questions, taking into account the response time
  • real-time monitoring cameras

then the delay time of the video stream will be the main factors for choosing the streaming technology.

Broadcast video with a delay of no more than 1-3 seconds belong to the Low Latency streaming category. To solve such problems, the Wowza Streaming Engine software, unlike other manufacturers offering their proprietary solutions, supports several open technologies at once and, most importantly, allows you to use a combination of these technologies. You can publish a stream to Wowza using one technology, and view a stream from Wowza using another.

To publish a Low Latency stream to a media server, an IP camera (RTP / RTSP, RTMP), hardware or software encoder (SRT, RTMP, RTP / RTSP), web page with WebRTC application.

To view such a broadcast in a browser application or on a mobile device, one of the modern technologies is used: Low Latency HLS or WebRTC. If the first of them is just starting its way and is now supported exclusively on devices with iOS (and not in the browser, but only in the application), then WebRTC technology has been known for a long time and has actually replaced Adobe Flash in web applications. WebRTC technology is well-documented and allows you to create your own video viewing and transmission applications. Moreover, to simplify the task of developers, an example of a ready-made WebRTC application for viewing and publishing a video stream is supplied with the Wowza Streaming Engine. Also, for the fastest possible launch of Low Latency broadcasting on a site or in a mobile application, PWI developed a WebRTC video player, which we are pleased to offer all new customers of the Wowza Streaming Engine licenses or existing users of a media server.

An example of a live broadcast with transmuxing of an RTSP stream of an IP camera to WebRTC from one of the best ski resorts in Russia "Big Woodyavr" in the Murmansk region. The latency is up to 2 seconds.

Доставка медиапотока с минимальной временной задержкой (Low Latency video streaming)

При просмотре ТВ передачи или live трансляции какого-то мероприятия задержка изображения в пределах 1мин от реального времени не является проблемой и никак не сказывается на комфорте зрителя. Большинство популярных сервисов потокового вещания и операторов OTT используют стандарты передачи видеопотока поверх протокола HTTP с задержкой порядка 30-40сек.

Однако как только к пассивному просмотру добавляется интерактивность и зритель становится участником действия, задавая вопросы в текстовом чате (вебинар) или подключается в режиме обратного видеозвока, минимальная задержка сразу становится важной. А для игровых проектов со ставками или с учетом скорости ответа - вообще принципиальным моментом. Трансляция видео с задержкой не более чем 1-2сек относятся к категории Low Latency streaming. Итак , если вас :

  • трансляция презентации ( вебинар ) предусматривающая прямые вопросы от зрителей ( без предварительной модерации ) текстовым чатом или видеозвонком
  • трансляция спортивных событий или игр с приемом ставок
  • викторина с ответами на вопросы с учетом времени ответа
  • камеры мониторинга в режиме реального времени

то время задержки видеопотока будет основным факторов для выбора технологии потокового вещания.

Трансляция видео с задержкой не более чем 1-3сек относятся к категории Low Latency streaming. Для решения подобных задач программное обеспечение Wowza Streaming Engine, в отличии от других производителей предлагающих свои проприетарные решения, поддерживает сразу несколько открытых технологий и, что самое главное, позволяет использовать комбинацию из этих технологий. Публиковать потока на Wowza можно с использованием одной технологии, а просматривать поток с Wowza используя другую.

Для публикации Low Latency потока на медиасервер может использоваться IP камера (RTP/RTSP, RTMP) , аппаратный или программный энкодер (SRT, RTMP, RTP/RTSP), веб страница с WebRTC приложением.

Для просмотра такой трансляции в браузерном приложении или на мобильном устройстве применяется одна из из современных технологий: Low Latency HLS или WebRTC. Если первая из них только начинает свой путь и сейчас поддерживается исключительно на устройствах с iOS ( и не в браузере, а только в приложении), то технология WebRTC известна уже достаточно давно и фактически уже заменил собой Adobe Flash в веб приложениях. Технология WebRTC хорошо документирована и позволяет создавать собственные приложения просмотра и передачи видео. Более того, для упрощения задачи разработчиков в комплекте с Wowza Streaming Engine поставляется пример готового WebRTC приложения для просмотра и публикации видеопотока. Так же для максимально быстрого запуска Low Latency вещания на сайте или в мобильном приложении компанией PWI был разработан WebRTC видеоплеер, который мы рады предложить всем новым покупателям лицензий Wowza Streaming Engine или существующим пользователям медиасервера.