SSL/TLS support in Wowza Streaming Engine.

2022-11-24 12:28:00

SSL/TLS.

SSL and TLS are protocols for secure data transmission over an IP network. When a connection is established via the SSL/TLS protocol, through the use of authentication and encryption, a secure data transmission channel is formed for application protocols of network applications, in particular for streaming protocols: HTTP (Apple HLS, MPEG DASH) , RTP, RTMP.

Why you need to use SSL/TLS in Wowza Streaming Engine.

In addition to the main function - protecting the transmitted information, the use of SSL / TLS with the Wowza Streaming Engine media server can be mandatory, even when the information itself is not secret. The fact is that an HTML5 video player to view Apple HLS/MPEG-DASH streams and hosted on a website protected by SSL/TLS will not be able to play a video stream from a media server without support for an SSL/TLS connection. Appropriate security checks are performed by all browsers. Also, the WebRTC technology used to create interactive applications and minimize video transmission delay cannot work without SSL / TLS.

Types of SSL/TLS certificates in Wowza Streaming Engine.

Wowza Streaming En gine supports several methods to work with SSL certificates. First of all, Wowza offers to get a free StreamLock SSL certificate. To use such a certificate, the Wowza server may not even have a domain name, since StreamLock is also DNS hosting with your server registered in the streamlock.net domain. Such a certificate is issued instantly and installed on the server is very simple, you only need to copy the resulting file and write a couple of configuration lines. But there is also a significant limitation, the StreamLock certificate will only work while the Wowza Maintenance and Support Agreement (Wowza M&S) is active.

While it is not necessary to use a StreamLock certificate. You can use an SSL certificate issued by any Internet provider, paid or free. It is convenient to use a wildcard SSL certificate to install the same certificate on the web server and on the Wowza Streaming Engine server. The procedure for preparing and configuring your own SSL certificate will require a little more effort than the Wowza StreamLock certificate.

Preparing your own SSL certificate for installation in Wowza Streaming Engine.

The complexity of setting up your own certificate lies in the fact that you cannot install the .crt / .pem file received from the provider with an SSL certificate in X.509 format on Wowza as-is. Wowza, like other Java applications, supports SSL certificates stored in a .jks file. The X.509 certificate will need to be converted to PKCS12 format (.pfx file) and imported into a .jks file. In addition to a personal SSL certificate and key, to generate a .pfx file, you will need a .ca-bundle file containing the root and intermediate certificates of the certification authority. Sometimes the provider sends ready-made .ca-bundles, but if the root and intermediate certificates were obtained separately, then you can create the .ca-bundle yourself, in a text editor, by copying the contents of these files and placing the intermediate certificate first, and the root certificate second.

Next, for the Linux platform, you need to run two commands:


openssl pkcs12 -export -chain -CAfile .ca-bundle -in .crt -inkey .key -name -out .pfx /usr/local/WowzaStreamingEngine/java/bin/keytool -importkeystore -deststorepass -destkeystore .jks -srckeystore .pfx -srcstoretype PKCS12

The .jks obtained in this way should be written to /usr/local/WowzaStreamingEngine /conf/VHost.xml , specifying the path to the file, its name and password.

Поддержка SSL/TLS в Wowza Streaming Engine.

2022-11-24 12:28:00

SSL/TLS.

SSL и TLS - это протоколы безопасной передачи данных в IP сети. При установлении соединения по протоколу SSL/TLS, за счет использования аутентификации и шифрования, формируется безопасный канал передачи данных для прикладных протоколов сетевых приложений, в частности для протоколов потоковой передачи: HTTP (Apple HLS, MPEG DASH) , RTP, RTMP.

Почему необходимо использовать SSL/TLS в Wowza Streaming Engine.

Помимо основной функции - защиты передаваемой информации, использование SSL/TLS с медиасервером Wowza Streaming Engine может быть обязательно, даже когда сама информация и не является секретной. Дело в том, что HTML5 видеоплеер предназначенный для просмотра потоков Apple HLS/MPEG- DASH и расположенный на веб-сайте защищенном SSL/TLS, не сможет воспроизвести видеопоток с медиасервера без поддержки соединения по SSL/TLS. Соответствующая проверка параметров безопасности производится всеми браузерами. Также технология WebRTC применяемая для создания интерактивных приложений и минимизации задержки передачи видео не может работать без SSL/TLS.

Типы сертификатов SSL/TLS в Wowza Streaming Engine.

Wowza Streaming En gine поддерживает несколько способов работы с SSL сертификатами. Прежде всего Wowza предлагает получить бесплатный SSL сертификат StreamLock. Для использования такого сертификата у сервера с Wowza может даже не быть доменного имени, так как StreamLock это еще и DNS хостинг с регистрацией вашего сервера в домене streamlock.net. Такой сертификат выпускается моментально и устанавливается на сервере очень просто, необходимо только скопировать полученный файл и прописать пару строк конфигурации. Но есть и существенное ограничение, сертификат StreamLock будет работать только пока активен контракт на получение обновлений и техническую поддержку Wowza Maintenance and Support Agreement ( Wowza M&S).

Но совсем необязательно использовать сертификат StreamLock. Можно использовать SSL сертификат выпущенный любым Интернет провайдером, платный или бесплатный. Удобно использовать wildcard SSL сертификат для установки одного и того же сертификата на веб-сервере и на сервере Wowza Streaming Engine. Процедура подготовки и конфигурирования своего собственного SSL cертификата потребует несколько больше усилий, чем сертификат Wowza StreamLock .

Подготовка собственного SSL сертификата для установки в Wowza Streaming Engine.

Сложность настройки собственного сертификата заключается в том, что установить полученный от провайдера файле .crt/.pem с SSL сертификатом в формате X.509 на Wowza as-is не получится. Wowza , как и другие Java приложения, поддерживает SSL сертификаты хранящиеся в файле .jks . Сертификат X.509 нужно будет конвертировать в формат PKCS12 (.pfx файл) и импортировать его в .jks файл. Помимо персонального SSL сертификата и ключа для формирования .pfx файла потребуется .ca-bundle файл, содержащий в себе корневой и промежуточный сертификаты центра сертификации. Иногда провайдер присылает .ca-bundle в готовом виде , но если корневой и промежуточный сертификаты были получены раздельно , то создать .ca-bundle можно самостоятельно, в текстовом редакторе, скопировав содержимое этих файлов и разместив промежуточный сертификат первым, а корневой сертификат вторым.

Далее, для платформы Linux , необходимо выполнить две команды :


openssl pkcs12 -export -chain -CAfile .ca-bundle -in .crt -inkey .key -name -out .pfx /usr/local/WowzaStreamingEngine/java/bin/keytool -importkeystore -deststorepass -destkeystore .jks -srckeystore .pfx -srcstoretype PKCS12

Полученный таким образом .jks следует прописать в /usr/local/WowzaStreamingEngine /conf/VHost.xml , указав путь к файлу, его имя и пароль.